Center For Southeast Asian Studies

University of Wisconsin-Madison
   Support Us




CSEAS MA Students 2013 - 2014

Yuqi Cao
Email:  ycao52@wisc.edu
Academic Interests:  Indian influences in Southeast Asia
Research Areas of Interest:  Cambodia, Thailand
Previous education:  BA, Teaching Chinese as a Foreign Language, East China Normal University (2013)

Gioconda Coello
Email:  gcoello@wisc.edu
Academic interests:  Theravada Buddhism, Buddhist studies
Research Area(s) of Interest:  Thailand
Previous education:  BA, Tourism, Pontifica Universida Catolica del Ecuador

Michael Dunford
Email:  mdunford@wisc.edu
Academic interests:  anthropology, education, concepts of nationalism, state-building, language
Research Area(s) of Interest:  Laos and Myanmar
Previous education:  BA English, Kenyon College

Natalie Ferri
Email:  nferri@wisc.edu
Academic Interests:  gender and sexuality, human rights, trafficking
Research Area(s) of Interest:  Thailand
Previous Education:  BA, Anthropology, Boise Sate University

Kurt Kuehne
Email:  kkuehne@wisc.edu
Academic Interests:  politics, state and non-state authority, particularly with regard to evolving mechanisms of power
Research Area(s) of interest:  Southeast Asia, Myanmar
Previous education :  BA, Politics, Princeton University

Tianjiao Ma
Email:  tma36@wisc.edu
Academic Interests:  Thai history, origins of Thai political institutions and their current influence, history of Chinese immigration in Southeast Asia
Research Area(s) of interest:  Malaysia, Indonesia, Singapore, and Thailand
Previous education:  BA, International Studies, Xi'an International Studies University; MA, Southeast Asian Studies, Chulalongkorn University

Aurore Phenow
Email:  phenow@wisc.edu
Academic interests:  fisheries and environmental policy, environmental impact of dam development; within the Mekong River, interrelation of fish populations and fish migration with human food supply and livelihood related to fishing.
Research Area(s) of interest:  Mekong River region
Previous education:  BS, Biology, Bethel College

Michio Ueda
Email:  mueda2@wisc.edu
Academic interests:  Comparative Politics, International Relations
Research Area(s) of interest:  Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia, Philippines, ASEAN
Previous education:  Bachelor of Laws, University of Tokyo (2013)

Seethong Yang
Email:  seethong.yang@gmail.com
Academic interests:  Hmong studies, Hmong in Southeast Asia
Research Area(s) of interest:  Laos
Previous education:  BS, Business Administration, University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh

Shengqi Zhang
Email:  szhang387@wisc.edu
Academic Interests:  Burmese language, mainland Southeast Asian cultures and resources, Indonesian culture.
Research Area(s) of Interest:  Myanmar, Indonesia
Previous Education:  BA in Burmese, with minor in Diplomatic Studies, Beijing Foreign Studies University



UW-Madison | Search | Home

Center for Southeast Asian Studies
University of Wisconsin-Madison
207 Ingraham Hall
1155 Observatory Drive
Madison, WI 53706-1397
phone: (608) 263-1755
fax: (608) 263-3735
e-mail: seasia@intl-institute.wisc.edu