Faculty

Larry Ashmun

Southeast Asian & Hmong Studies Bibliographer

lashmun@library.wisc.edu

Ian Baird

Director, Center for Southeast Asian Studies; Associate Professor of Geography

ibaird@wisc.edu

Erlin S. Barnard

Distinguished Faculty Associate and Pedagogy Coordinator, Department of Asian Languages and Cultures

esbarnard@wisc.edu

Katherine Bowie

Professor of Anthropology and Past Director of the Center for Southeast Asian Studies

kabowie@wisc.edu

Peggy Choy

Associate Professor, Dance Program and Asian American Studies

pachoy@wisc.edu

Ian Coxhead

Professor of Agricultural and Applied Economics and Past Director of the Center for Southeast Asian Studies

coxhead@wisc.edu

Michael Cullinane

Associate Director, Center for Southeast Asian Studies; Faculty Associate, Department of History

mmcullin@wisc.edu

Hong Thi Dinh

Lecturer (SA) in Vietnamese, Asian Languages and Cultures, and Vietnamese Coordinator, SEASSI

hdinh@wisc.edu

Anna Gade

Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor, Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies

amgade@wisc.edu

Tyrell Haberkorn

Associate Professor, Asian Languages and Cultures

tchaberkorn@wisc.edu

Anne Hansen

Professor, Department of History; Past Director, Center for Southeast Asian Studies (2014-2016)

arhansen@wisc.edu

Li-Ching Ho

Assistant Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction

liching.ho@wisc.edu

Eunsook Jung

Director of International Programs and Faculty Associate, Department of Political Science

esjung@wisc.edu

Nam Kim

Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology

nckim2@wisc.edu

Choua Lee

Lecturer in Hmong, Asian Languages and Cultures, and Hmong Coordinator, SEASSI

lee2@wisc.edu

Alfred W. McCoy

Harrington Professor of History, Past Director of the Center for Southeast Asian Studies

awmccoy@wisc.edu

Mary E. McCoy

Outreach and Communications, Center for Southeast Asian Studies; Faculty Associate, Department of Communication Arts

mccoy2@wisc.edu

Jenna Nobles

Associate Professor of Sociology

jnobles@ssc.wisc.edu

Kristopher Olds

Professor and Past Chair of Department of Geography

kolds@wisc.edu

Patcharin Peyasantiwong

SEASSI Thai Coordinator and Lecturer

ppeyasan@wisc.edu

Mark Sidel

Doyle-Bascom Professor of Law

mark.sidel@wisc.edu

Janpanit Surasin

Lecturer in Thai, Asian Languages and Cultures and SEASSI

surasin@wisc.edu

Sakti Suryani

Lecturer (SA) in Indonesian, Asian Languages and Cultures and SEASSI

suryani@wisc.edu

Sheila Zamar

Lecturer (SA) in Filipino, and Filipino Coordinator, SEASSI

szamar@wisc.edu

Yongming Zhou

Professor, Department of Anthropology

yongmingzhou@wisc.edu

Faculty Emeritus

Lois Ann Anderson

PhD (UCLA)
Emerita Professor, Department of Ethnomusicology, School of of Music
Past director of the Center for Southeast Asian Studies
lama@wisc.edu

Robert J. Bickner

PhD (Michigan)
Emeritus Professor, Department of Asian Languages and Cultures
Past Chair of Department of Languages and Cultures of Asia
Past Language Director of SEASSI
rbickner@wisc.edu

J. Lin Compton

PhD (Michigan)
Emeritus Professor of Development Education, Social Forestry, International Agriculture and Asian Studies in the Department of Forest Ecology and Management
Past chair of the Doctoral Program in Development studies in the Land Tenure Center
lcompton@wisc.edu

Dustin C. Cowell

PhD (UC-San Diego)
Emeritus Professor, Department of African Languages and Literature
Past president of the Consortium for the Teaching of Indonesian
dccowell@wisc.edu

Daniel F. Doeppers

PhD (Syracuse)
Emeritus Professor, Department of Geography
Past Director of the Center for Southeast Asian Studies
dfdoeppe@wisc.edu

Albert C. Gunther

PhD (Stanford)
Professor, School of Journalism and Mass Communication
agunther@wisc.edu

Russell Middleton

PhD (Texas)
Emeritus Professor, Department of Sociology
middleto@ssc.wisc.edu

Ellen Rafferty

PhD (SUNY Binghamton)
Emerita Professor, Indonesian Language and Culture, Department of Asian Languages and Cultures
Current Language Director for SEASSI
Past director of the Center for Southeast Asian Studies
Past president of the Consortium for the Teaching of Indonesian
emraffer@wisc.edu

Thongchai Winichakul

PhD (University of Sydney)
Emeritus Professor, Department of  History
Past director of the Center for Southeast Asian Studies
twinicha@wisc.edu