Teaching Faculty and Librarian

Larry Ashmun

Position title: Southeast Asian & Hmong Studies Bibliographer

Email: lashmun@library.wisc.edu

Ian Baird

Position title: Director, Center for Southeast Asian Studies; Professor of Geography

Email: ibaird@wisc.edu

Erlin S. Barnard

Position title: Distinguished Faculty Associate and Pedagogy Coordinator, Department of Asian Languages and Cultures

Email: esbarnard@wisc.edu

Katherine Bowie

Position title: Professor of Anthropology and Past Director of the Center for Southeast Asian Studies

Email: kabowie@wisc.edu

Peggy Choy

Position title: Associate Professor, Dance Program and Asian American Studies

Email: pachoy@wisc.edu

Ian Coxhead

Position title: Professor of Agricultural and Applied Economics and Past Director of the Center for Southeast Asian Studies

Email: coxhead@wisc.edu

Michael Cullinane

Position title: Associate Director, Center for Southeast Asian Studies; Faculty Associate, Department of History

Email: mmcullin@wisc.edu

Trang Diem Tran

Position title: Lecturer (SA) in Vietnamese, Asian Languages and Cultures

Email: tdtran3@wisc.edu

Hong Thi Dinh

Position title: Lecturer (SA) in Vietnamese, Asian Languages and Cultures, and Vietnamese Coordinator, SEASSI

Email: hdinh@wisc.edu

Anna Gade

Position title: Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor, Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies

Email: amgade@wisc.edu

Tyrell Haberkorn

Position title: Associate Professor, Asian Languages and Cultures

Email: tchaberkorn@wisc.edu

Anne Hansen

Position title: Professor, Department of History; Past Director, Center for Southeast Asian Studies (2014-2016)

Email: arhansen@wisc.edu

Li-Ching Ho

Position title: Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction

Email: liching.ho@wisc.edu

Eunsook Jung

Position title: Assistant Dean, Academic Deans' Services, College of Letters and Science

Email: esjung@wisc.edu

Nam Kim

Position title: Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology

Email: nckim2@wisc.edu

Eileen Lagman

Position title: Assistant Professor, Department of English

Email: lagman@wisc.edu

Choua Lee

Position title: Lecturer in Hmong, Asian Languages and Cultures, and Hmong Coordinator, SEASSI

Email: lee2@wisc.edu

Maichou Lor

Position title: Assistant Professor, School of Nursing

Email: mlor2@wisc.edu

Alfred W. McCoy

Position title: Harrington Professor of History, Past Director of the Center for Southeast Asian Studies

Email: awmccoy@wisc.edu

Mary E. McCoy

Position title: Outreach and Communications, Center for Southeast Asian Studies; Faculty Associate, Department of Communication Arts

Email: mccoy2@wisc.edu

Jenna Nobles

Position title: Professor of Sociology

Email: jnobles@ssc.wisc.edu

Kristopher Olds

Position title: Professor and Past Chair of Department of Geography

Email: kolds@wisc.edu

Mark Sidel

Position title: Doyle-Bascom Professor of Law

Email: mark.sidel@wisc.edu

Janpanit Surasin

Position title: Lecturer in Thai, Asian Languages and Cultures and SEASSI

Email: surasin@wisc.edu

Sakti Suryani

Position title: Lecturer (SA) in Indonesian, Asian Languages and Cultures and SEASSI

Email: suryani@wisc.edu

Sheila Zamar

Position title: Lecturer (SA) in Filipino, and Filipino Coordinator, SEASSI

Email: szamar@wisc.edu

Yongming Zhou

Position title: Professor, Department of Anthropology

Email: yongmingzhou@wisc.edu

Foreign Language Teaching Assistants

My Khanh Truong

Position title: Foreign Language Teaching Assistant - Vietnamese

Email: mktruong@wisc.edu

Pavitra Urathumkul

Position title: Foreign Language Teaching Assistant - Thai

Email: urathumkul@wisc.edu

Ira Wardhani

Position title: Foreign Language Teaching Assistant - Indonesian

Email: iwardhani@wisc.edu

Faculty Emeritus

Lois Ann Anderson

PhD (UCLA)
Emerita Professor, Department of Ethnomusicology, School of of Music
Past Director of the Center for Southeast Asian Studies
lama@wisc.edu

Robert J. Bickner

PhD (Michigan)
Emeritus Professor, Department of Asian Languages and Cultures
Past Chair of Department of Languages and Cultures of Asia
Past Language Director of SEASSI
rbickner@wisc.edu

J. Lin Compton

PhD (Michigan)
Emeritus Professor of Development Education, Social Forestry, International Agriculture and Asian Studies in the Department of Forest Ecology and Management
Past Chair of the Doctoral Program in Development studies in the Land Tenure Center
lcompton@wisc.edu

Dustin C. Cowell

PhD (UC-San Diego)
Emeritus Professor, Department of African Languages and Literature
Past President of the Consortium for the Teaching of Indonesian
dccowell@wisc.edu

Daniel F. Doeppers

PhD (Syracuse)
Emeritus Professor, Department of Geography
Past Director of the Center for Southeast Asian Studies
dfdoeppe@wisc.edu

Albert C. Gunther

PhD (Stanford)
Professor, School of Journalism and Mass Communication
agunther@wisc.edu

Russell Middleton

PhD (Texas)
Emeritus Professor, Department of Sociology
middleto@ssc.wisc.edu

Ellen Rafferty

PhD (SUNY Binghamton)
Emerita Professor, Indonesian Language and Culture, Department of Asian Languages and Cultures
Current Language Director for SEASSI
Past Director of the Center for Southeast Asian Studies
Past President of the Consortium for the Teaching of Indonesian
emraffer@wisc.edu

Thongchai Winichakul

PhD (University of Sydney)
Emeritus Professor, Department of  History
Past Director of the Center for Southeast Asian Studies
twinicha@wisc.edu