Faculty

Larry Ashmun

Southeast Asian & Hmong Studies Bibliographer

lashmun@library.wisc.edu

Ian Baird

Director, Center for Southeast Asian Studies; Associate Professor of Geography

ibaird@wisc.edu

Erlin Barnard

Pedagogy Coordinator for Less Commonly Taught Languages (LCTL), Department of Asian Languages and Cultures

esbarnard@wisc.edu

Katherine Bowie

Anthropology Professor and Past Director of the Center for Southeast Asian Studies (2001-2002, 2011-2014)

kabowie@wisc.edu

Peggy Choy

Associate Professor, Dance Program and Asian American Studies

pachoy@wisc.edu

Ian Coxhead

Professor, Department of Agricultural and Applied Economics

coxhead@wisc.edu

Michael Cullinane

Associate Director, Center for Southeast Asian Studies; Lecturer, Department of History

mmcullin@wisc.edu

Hong Thi Dinh

Vietnamese Language Lecturer and SEASSI Vietnamese Coordinator

hdinh@wisc.edu

Anna Gade

Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor, Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies

amgade@wisc.edu

Tyrell Haberkorn

Associate Professor, Asian Languages and Cultures

tchaberkorn@wisc.edu

Anne Hansen

Professor, Department of History; Past Director, Center for Southeast Asian Studies (2014-2016)

arhansen@wisc.edu

Li-Ching Ho

Assistant Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction

liching.ho@wisc.edu

Eunsook Jung

Director of International Programs, Department of Political Science

esjung@wisc.edu

Nam Kim

Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology

nckim2@wisc.edu

Choua Lee

Hmong Language Lecturer and SEASSI Hmong Coordinator

lee2@wisc.edu

Alfred W. McCoy

Harrington Professor of History

awmccoy@wisc.edu

Mary E. McCoy

Outreach and Communications, Center for Southeast Asian Studies; Faculty Associate, Department of Communication Arts

mccoy2@wisc.edu

Jenna Nobles

Associate Professor of Sociology

jnobles@ssc.wisc.edu

Kristopher Olds

Associate Professor, Department of Geography

kolds@wisc.edu

Patcharin Peyasantiwong

SEASSI Thai Coordinator and Lecturer

ppeyasan@wisc.edu

Mark Sidel

Doyle-Bascom Professor of Law

mark.sidel@wisc.edu

Sakti Suryani

Indonesian Language Lecturer (SA)

suryani@wisc.edu

Sheila Zamar

Filipino Language Lecturer (SA) and SEASSI Filipino Coordinator

szamar@wisc.edu

Yongming Zhou

Professor, Department of Anthropology

yongmingzhou@wisc.edu

Faculty Emeritus

Lois Ann Anderson

PhD (UCLA)
Emerita Professor, Department of Ethnomusicology, School of of Music
Past director of the Center for Southeast Asian Studies
lama@wisc.edu

Robert J. Bickner

PhD (Michigan)
Emeritus Professor, Department of Asian Languages and Cultures
rbickner@wisc.edu

J. Lin Compton

PhD (Michigan)
Emeritus Professor of Development Education, Social Forestry, International Agriculture and Asian Studies in the Department of Forest Ecology and Management
Past chair of the Doctoral Program in Development studies in the Land Tenure Center
lcompton@wisc.edu

Dustin C. Cowell

PhD (UC-San Diego)
Emeritus Professor, Department of African Languages and Literature
Past president of the Consortium for the Teaching of Indonesian
dccowell@wisc.edu

Daniel F. Doeppers

PhD (Syracuse)
Emeritus Professor, Department of Geography
dfdoeppe@wisc.edu

Albert C. Gunther

PhD (Stanford)
Professor, School of Journalism and Mass Communication
agunther@wisc.edu

Russell Middleton

PhD (Texas)
Emeritus Professor, Department of Sociology
middleto@ssc.wisc.edu

Ellen Rafferty

PhD (SUNY Binghamton)
Emerita Professor, Indonesian Language and Culture, Department of Asian Languages and Cultures
Past director of the Center for Southeast Asian Studies
Past president of the Consortium for the Teaching of Indonesian
emraffer@wisc.edu

Thongchai Winichakul

PhD (University of Sydney)
Emeritus Professor, Department of  History
Past director of the Center for Southeast Asian Studies
twinicha@wisc.edu