THINKING RIGHTS, WRITING JUSTICE in Southeast Asia Lecture Series

The THINKING RIGHTS, WRITING JUSTICE IN SOUTHEAST ASIA online lecture series is a project of the Justice in Southeast Asia Lab (JSEALab).  See below for details of talks in Spring 2022, including links to recordings when available, and details of upcoming talks in Spring 2023.

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

Spring 2023

Check back for details in Spring 2023!

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

Archive

“’When I was tortured…’ A Narrative of State Injustice in Thailand”

Nick Cheesman, Australian National University

Tuesday, 12 April: 6 pm PST, 9 pm EST

Wednesday, 13 April: 8 am ICT, 10 am JST, 12 pm AEDT

*No video recording available*

 


“Repressive-Responsive Parameters of Autocracies in Asia”

Nhu Truong, Denison University

Tuesday, 22 March: 6 pm PST, 9 pm EST

Wednesday, 23 March: 8 am ICT, 10 am JST, 12 pm AEDT

*No video recording available*

 

 


“The Cost of Rebellion: The Thai State’s Crackdown on the Reimagination of Democracy”

Bencharat Sae Chua, Mahidol University

22/23 February

Recording available here.

 

 

 


“Land Reform amidst Legal Debris: Learning Risky Rights in Myanmar”

Hilary Faxon, UC-Berkeley

Tuesday/Wednesday, 25/26 January 2022

*No video recording available*